Skip to main content
New Opportunities Inc
Main Content

Disaster Assistance

When the Governor releases a proclamation of disaster activating the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program, it activates the Community Action Agencies serving the disaster-affected county(ies) to provide Disaster Case Management services. 

Current disaster declarations: Audubon, Carroll, Dallas, Greene & Guthrie Counties
March 28, 2019 Greene County Proclamation

March 26, 2019 Carroll County Proclamation
March 20, 2019 Audubon County Proclamation
March 15, 2019 Dallas County Proclamation
March 15, 2019 Guthrie County Proclamation
Click locations to find your county office.

The Iowa Individual Disaster Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP) offers grants to families whose household’s annual income is at 200% or less of the federal poverty level.  Each qualifying household may receive up to $5,000.00. To view eligible items, see the IIAGP/IDCM Rules.

The IIAGP is activated when the Governor issues a disaster proclamation turning on IIAGP for the affected counties in the disaster declaration.

Contact your local Outreach office for help or
For more information on Disaster Assistance visit the Iowa Community Action Association website: 


Disaster Case Management includes time-limited services to eligible households to develop and carry out a Disaster Recovery Plan, providing guidance, advice, and referral in obtaining a service, or assisting in obtaining resources from various providers that address a serious need essential to the Household to prevent, mitigate, or overcome a disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse condition.

Disaster Case Managers serve as a primary point of contact, assisting the household in coordinating necessary services and resources to address the client’s complex disaster recovery needs in order to re-establish normalcy. Disaster Case Managers rely on the client to play an active or lead role in their recovery.

© 2020New Opportunities Inc. All rights reserved.